Views: 84

On August 13 a ground breaking ceremony was held at the future site of the church. Three acres of land were purchased for $21,000 from J.W. Street at the corner of the Old 19-E and Gap Creek Road for the purpose on August 10. The church was founded June 13, 1977 by a small group of people basing its foundation on Jesus Christ with great emphasis on evangelism. Under the pastorship of Rev. O.P. Stokes, the church has grown greatly in number. Bulley Stevens, Wayne Jones, and Sam Ferguson were elected by the church to serve as the building committee. Church deacons are Horace Calhoun and Louis DeLoach. Trustees are Wayne Jones and Doyle Norris.
The first service was held on September 2, 1979 with Rev. Sam Nickles and Rev. C.B. Shoemaker spoke at the 10 and 11 am services. The Appointed Sound Singers of Bristol were featured at each service and throughout the day. Lunch was served from 12-1:30 pm by the ladies of the church at the Rittertown Baptist Church fellowship shed. During the afternoon service Kyle Chinouth, former city commissioner and mayor of Johnson City along with D.R. Beeson, former city commissioner and assitant mayor of Johnson CIty dedicated the church. Special guest, Rev. Wallace Hayes, state promotional director of the State of Tennessee, gave the charge to the pastor and all officials.
Rev. O.P. Stokes led in the building of not only Harmony Freewill Baptist church but at the same time he led in the building of Johnson City Free WIll Baptist Church.